Skip to content

What if?

February 9, 2012

What if my computer weren’t so slow? Would I be able to see the letters on my computer screen as I type? What if my kids were quiet for 10 consecutive minutes? Would my thoughts come out a little more clearly? Would I have actual coherent thoughts? What if my kids were ALWAYS obedient? What if gas were free? What if  baby weight just disappeared? What if money did grow on trees? What if? What if? What if?

I have been thinking about this question a lot over the past two days. I feel like I always wonder WHAT life would be like IF… When I read ACTS, the disciples didn’t have to wonder WHAT IF the Holy Spirit comes? They were promised this gift by ALMIGHTY GOD. So what happened when they were given the HOLY SPIRIT? God used them to change the world. They didn’t wonder WHAT IF we prayed? WHAT IF we shared? WHAT IF we just told people about our journey with God? They DID all of those things and God added to HIS church.

I think the thing that makes us different from the disciples is that they had power – they knew they had it and allowed God’s Spirit to work through them. Do we have that power? If so, why are we asking, “What if?”

For this week’s discussion, I would love for you to share your answer to one of three questions:

  1. What did you learn this week that really stood out to you?
  2. What did you learn about God ?
  3. What if we lived like the early church? How would our families, communities, work places, etc… be affected?

I look forward to hearing what God has taught you this week.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. melanie Boyer permalink
    February 9, 2012 12:47 pm

    i have to say last week when we read about Jesus being taken to heaven and this week when we read about the tongues of fire reaching every individual person in the room, I thought of the movie Megamind. Jesus and our Father knew about “PRESENTATION!!!” And I am reminded of how important it is for us to speak HIs wonders out loud.
    This week I thought of the Movie “DespicableMe.” {And the sad thing is my kids are getting older}… In my comments I wrote about the wonders we see every day (the ones I am supposed to be proclaiming). The truth is despite the wonders of our God, we betray Him every day. We forget Him in the smallest moments and choices we make and worse go forward without Him in the big ones. Yet He rises to love us despite our ugly nature. These stories remind me to trust Him to keep us on the right paths…
    When I read about the people being cut to the heart, it reminded me that I need Him to touch mine.
    I loved reading that the people devoted themselves to teaching, fellowship, prayer and food… They loved being together and caring for each other and their numbers grew every day. I learned that God can unite a broken people broken by their sin and ugly nature (imagine how heartbroken they had to have been to realize they had crucified their beloved savoir and were forgiven). He not only made them whole, but they flourished and grew. (made me think of the garden) It made me jealous to know that part of our God and to receive those blessings.
    And when I read about the man at the gate called Beautiful… I was reminded not to dwell on how hard any part of my life was or dwell on any past hurts. Look up when He sends someone with hope and accept any joys God’s people offer. Dance and jump for joy when and while I am able. I am reminded to Look at people really look at them and acknowledge their presence even when it seems small , useless and beyond my ability to help.

    • February 9, 2012 5:13 pm

      Great thoughts, Mel. I, too, was convicted by the man at the gates. What an example of thankfulness. I need that kind of faith and relationship with God that makes me want to jump up and down shouting his praises.

  2. Jodi permalink
    February 9, 2012 5:29 pm

    This week I kept thinking …. Acts = Action. And how I need to be more obedient to the Holy Spirit’s call to action….spread the Gospel, share more closely in the lives of other believers, learn from spiritual leaders, help teach and witness to newer believers, reach out to those in need, and most of all pray,pray,pray! Like the lame man, I often beg (pray) for things just to survive….and God answers much better with life that thrives! I need to pray more in line with His mindset…He offers a life full of abundance, with joy and dancing 🙂

    • February 10, 2012 12:08 pm

      I love that equation: Acts = Action. This is so true. Why do you think our modern day American church is not more a church of action?

  3. Luray permalink
    February 9, 2012 7:20 pm

    I love the idea of taking the “What ifs” out of life. (What if that hadn’t happened? What if that person hadn’t done that to me? What if I hadn’t made that choice?) Even though I have a lot of trouble doing it, I love the idea of Trust and Obey. I wish my children did it with me more often. It would make their life easier and mine too. But God is so wise and so trustworthy and so powerful. If I ask my children to trust and obey, why can’t I do it with God?

    Balance is a challenge for me too. The early church was so close knit and so devoted. Fellowship had a meaning in their world that I don’t know if we’re capable of in this culture. And yet here we are sharing on a blog, so while there are differences, they don’t always translate to excuses. Back to balance, how often is often enough to meet? How do we promote unity in Christ when people are so trifling? When do we give away rather than enjoying our blessings? I guess it all comes down to trusting the leadership of the Holy Spirit again. But that tends to lead to judgment and division too. My biggest prayers for the church are that we will follow the Holy Spirit and that we will pray for (and work toward) unity. I think those things will automatically lead to church growth and reaching the lost (our ultimate goal).

    As for the lame guy that Peter healed, I’m so curious about the long term affects. I know he was thrilled to be healed, who wouldn’t be? But when the newness wore off and he had to really work for the first time in his life, did he ever think, “Man, this is hard!”? I can’t imagine having NEVER worked in my life! I realize it was miserable, not a vacation, but I’m still curious. Must have been a big adjustment.

    • February 10, 2012 12:05 pm

      What do you think it is in our culture that causes us to shy away from the type of fellowship the early church had? I also wondered about what the lame man was like 1 year after he was healed.

  4. February 9, 2012 8:24 pm

    What if I didn’t read this post? I would have missed out.
    Nice post. Thanks.
    Rich

    • February 10, 2012 12:03 pm

      Rich,
      Thanks so much for joining the conversation. Will you join us in the study of the book of Acts? If so, check out our study guide section. We would love to hear your thoughts.
      Rebekah

Share your thoughts

