Skip to content

Be Present

April 20, 2012

Moms tend to be pulled in different directions all the time. We are constantly going 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Sometimes we are so consumed by our schedules that we forget that our purpose in life is greater than places to be and things to do. I know I am concerned more with assignments that have to be completed, locations for meetings, school, games, etc…, a house that needs to be cleaned, meals that need to be prepared (sometimes I don’t make it to that one), etc… You get my point. Life consumes me to the point that I forget what the purpose of life is all about.

Life is about being present with God and sharing Him with those “who happen to be present” in my life.

The apostle Paul didn’t forget his purpose. He was the exact opposite of me. For Paul, life was all about God’s purpose. Paul devoted himself completely to sharing the Good News of Jesus “with those who happened to be present” (Acts 17:17b). Paul shared God with everyone, those in the synagogues and those he met while at the market. Paul was present with people.

I might not be teaching in the synagogue, but I am often at the “market”. I am often in the presence of people. People are present in my life. I see people all the time, and sometimes I even get a chance to talk to them. We talk about life, the weather, kids, etc… which I don’t think is wrong, by the way. I often find myself involved in these types of conversations. However, how often do I find myself sharing the good news of Jesus? Am I allowing myself to be used by God? Am I leading God out into the open for people to see?

When I went to Bible school, there was a man who used to say, “When life is over, only two things will remain: 1. The Word of God; and 2. People”

If for now sharing God with those adults “who happen to be present” scares you, share with the little people you know. Share with the  kids in your life. Children also “happen to be present”. Make life about God, not about you and what you have to do. We still have to live life; however, we can choose our perspective and purpose to be present with God and to share Him with “those who happen to be present”.

Questions for you to ponder or respond to:

  1. What has been God’s message to you this past week?
  2. What scares you about sharing God with those “who happen to be present”?
  3. What are some ways you have found to be present with God in the midst of a busy life?
  4. What are some ways you have found to share God with those who are present in your busy life?
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Luray permalink
    April 24, 2012 11:34 am

    I think we’re afraid we might be asked questions we have no answers for. I think we’re afraid to talk about the power of God in our lives when we’re struggling. I think that, even though we totally believe, we’re afraid that they won’t. So I’m gonna go with fear as our main block to sharing. Fear of incompetence, fear of hypocrisy, fear of judgment and failure.

    I find it freeing that I don’t have to convert people, just love them in His name. Sometimes that is challenging because I’m not terribly friendly and I’m a rather pathetic hostess, but I do try to be loving in other ways. A truth that has finally reached me, bone deep, is that God has not asked me to live anyone’s life but mine. God made me. He gave me my genes and family and experiences so that I could live MY life for Him. I don’t need to be anyone else (good or bad) and I don’t need to wonder how I would deal with their life (good or bad). There is no good purpose in jealousy or discouragment or worry. Each of us just needs to seek God, love others and pray.

    I won’t be at the meeting because of an activity with my girls, but I encourage others to go. Rebekah is a great discussion leader and teacher. There is nothing like sharing with other women about our awesome God and what He’s doing in our lives. Since I won’t be there, others will actually have the chance to talk. Go!

    • April 25, 2012 6:41 pm

      I love that you mentioned how God has created each one of us uniquely. So true, yet so easily forgotten. I know I often look at other people’s lives and often guilt myself into being like them and loving people the way they do. Anyone else ever feel like this? Why do you think we compare ourselves so much?

Share your thoughts

